Darden School Foundation Board of Trustees

  • The Darden School Foundation

    The supportive relationship between the Darden School and the Darden School Foundation began with the initiative of business leaders who, under the guidance of former University President Colgate W. Darden Jr., secured the initial endowment funds necessary to found the School in the early 1950s.

    The Darden School Foundation is an independent, nonprofit, tax-exempt corporation that was incorporated on 29 December 1952. The Foundation supports the Darden School and its academic mission by:

    • Promoting philanthropic support from alumni, friends and corporations
    • Managing endowment funds for the School's exclusive benefit
    • Operating Darden's top-ranked Executive Education programs, the Inn at Darden and Abbott Center hospitality

    Darden School Foundation Board of Trustees

    An elected Board of Trustees oversees the Foundation’s strategies, providing an important link between the academic and business communities.

    Members 2018-19


    Elizabeth K. Weymouth (MBA ’94)
    Founder and Managing Partner, Grafine Partners

    Vice Chair

    Robert J. Hugin (MBA ’85) 
    Retired, Chairman and CEO, Celgene Corporation 

    Immediate Past Chair

    James A. Cooper (MBA ’84) 
    Founder and Senior Managing Partner, Thompson Street Capital Partners

    Kirby C. Adams (MBA ’79)
    Retired, CEO, Tata Steel Europe

    W. L. Lyons Brown III (MBA ’87)
    Founder and CEO, Altamar Brands LLC

    J. Andrew Bugas (MBA ’86)
    Partner, Radar Partners

    H. William Coogan Jr. (MBA ’82)
    Retired, CEO & Chairman, Firstmark Corp. 

    Charles R. Cory (MBA/JD ’82)
    Retired, Chairman of Global Technology Banking, Morgan Stanley & Co. Inc.

    Robert G. Doumar Jr. (MBA/JD ’88)
    Founder and Managing Partner, Park Square Capital LLP

    Franklin S. Edmonds Jr. (MBA/JD ’95)
    Managing Partner, Panning Capital Management LP

    Karen K. Edwards (MBA ’84)
    Partner, Boyden Global Executive Search 

    Arnold B. Evans (MBA/JD ’97)
    Enterprise Ethics Officer, SunTrust Bank

    John D. Fowler Jr. (MBA/JD ’84)            
    Vice Chair of Investment Banking, Wells Fargo Securities LLC

    Catherine J. Friedman (MBA ’86)
    Independent Consultant 

    John W. Glynn Jr.
    Founder and Managing Director, Glynn Capital Management

    Kirsti W. Goodwin (MBA ’02)

    Gordon Grand III (MBA ’75)
    Retired, Managing Director, Russell Reynolds Associates Inc.

    Peter M. Grant II (MBA ’86)
    Founding Partner, Anchormarck Holdings, LLC

    Robert L. Huffines (MBA '92)
    Global Chairman, Investment Banking, JPMorgan Chase

    Martina T. Hund-Mejean (MBA ’88)
    Retired, Chief Financial Officer, MasterCard Worldwide

    David B. Kelso (MBA ’82)
    Former Chair, Aetna

    Mark J. Kington (MBA ’88)
    Managing Director, Kington Management LLC

    Lemuel E. Lewis (MBA ’72) 
    President, LocalWeather.com 

    Elizabeth H. Lynch (MBA ’84)
    Senior Managing Director and Chief Human Resources Officer, Evercore

    Carolyn S. Miles (MBA ’88)
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Save the Children

    J. Byrne Murphy (MBA ’86)
    Chairman and Co-Owner, DigiPlex Group Companies

    Michael E. O’Neill (MBA ’74)
    Retired, Chairman, Citigroup Inc.

    Zhiyuan (Jerry) Peng (MBA ’03)
    Global Strategy Officer, Sands Capital Management 

    Frank M. Sands Jr. (MBA ’94)
    Chief Executive Officer and Chief Investment Officer, Sands Capital Management

    Frank M. Sands Sr. (MBA ’63)
    Founder and Chair, Sands Capital Management 
    Henry F. Skelsey (MBA ’84)
    Co-Founder and Co-CEO, 3QU Media LLC

    Erik A. Slingerland (MBA ’84)
    Managing Partner, EAS International SA

    Shannon G. Smith (MBA ’90)
    Founder & Chief Executive Officer, PointGuard

    Bruce R. Thompson (MBA ’90)
    Vice Chairman, Bank of America 

    William P. Utt (MBA ’84)
    Retired, KBR Inc. 

    Ex-Officio Trustees

    J. Michael Balay (MBA ’89)
    Managing Director, Wiswell Advisors LLC

    Scott C. Beardsley          
    Dean, Darden School of Business 

    Susan J. Chaplinsky 
    Tipton R. Snavely Professor of Business Administration, University of Virginia Darden School of Business 

    Richard C. Edmunds (MBA '92)
    Principal, Strategy& PwC

    Warren F. Estey (MBA '98)
    Vice Chairman, Deutsche Bank

    John C. Jeffries Jr.
    Senior Vice President for Advancement and Professor of Law, University of Virginia

    Rosemary B. King (MBA '91)
    Managing Director, K&B Fund

    Naresh Kumra (MBA '99)
    Managing Director and CEO, JMATEK Limited

    Jeanne M. Liedtka
    United Technologies Corporation Professor of Business Administration, University of Virginia Darden School of Business 

    Nicole McKinney Lindsay (MBA ’99/JD ’00)
    Vice President, Strategy & Operations, Center for Inclusive Growth, MasterCard 

    Jonathan D. Mariner 

    Patrick A. O'Shea (MBA '86)
    Chief Revenue Officer, ICmed LLC           

    Alex R. Picou (MBA '89)
    Managing Director, J.P. Morgan Chase

    James E. Ryan        
    President, University of Virginia